Mom vs. Mother In Law


My Mom’s House
I’m gad we only stayed for 4 days, although I had a good time with the family there. It’s true after 3 days the fish start smelling.

There’s only one bathroom in my mom’s house. Every time I went in the bathroom, someone had to go too.

My mom doesn’t believe in air conditioning. She has a unit in her house, but she leaves all the windows open. She wonders why she is having so much trouble with allergies.

My mom doesn’t own a hair dryer (?). I have to borrow my sister’s or go to the hair dresser if I want to wash my hair.

My mom nags at me because:
I don’t eat enough
My husband doesn’t eat enough
My son doesn’t eat at all (as if she doesn’t know he has spd). He was getting aggravated because everyone was asking what he eats. I was getting aggravated too.
I bought too much food from home and bought too much food at the store. There was yucky food at her house so I buy $50 worth of groceries (what can you buy with $50 these days? Exactly – nothing). Not that I’m counting but she egged me on about the food situation 3 times. And 3 times I walked away. I’m glad to say she tried to break me, but it didn’t work this time.

Good things about Long Island:
I saw my nieces, nephew, and sister (and mom)
Played tennis (I didn’t play, but the kids did. I don’t have an athletic bone in my body)
Saw friends
Went to the aquarium
My son had a good time

My Mother-in-law’s House
Yes, we stayed 4 days at MIL’s (mother-in-law) house – even Steven. So here goes my time at the NJ Shore:

There’s only one bathroom in my mom’s house. Every time I went in the bathroom, someone had to go too. Her bathroom is also small so there is absolutely nowhere to put my stuff.

My mom doesn’t believe in air conditioning. She has a unit in her house, but she leaves all the windows open. She wonders why she is having so much trouble with allergies.

Do you see a pattern people?

All my clothes were damp because she kept turning off the A/C. I felt like gasping for air because  the air was so heavy. I’m so glad to be back in my comfortable house.

My MIL hovers over me. She wants to help me pack, but I won’t be able to find anything if she helps me. And I have a system so I can find stuff when I stay at the hotel. She Insisted on handing me stuff which ruined my system. She watches me eat and cook breakfast.

My FIL wants to stuff us with food until he has to roll us from the table. He asked why my son doesn’t eat. I gave up explaining a long time ago because people don’t understand or listen anyway. And no one read my blog about his spd.

Good things about NJ
Saw Tim’s friends
Took pictures of the beach @ sunrise
My son had a good time

Don’t get me wrong my moms are good people, but, you know, a mom is a mom.

Mom vs. Mother In Law

Leave a Reply

