Why Am I a Bad Daughter?


My mom is dying of cancer; her meds don’t seem like they’re working. She’s tired all the time, has diarrhea, and the pain is only something I can’t imagine. No one needs to suffer like that. Life’s a bitch and then you die.

We always had our differences. She doesn’t understand me. She is set in her ways. I get impatient with her. I go into her house and I feel like I’m 12 again. She tells me what I should and should not do. She calls me lazy. She doesn’t like the fact that I’m make jewelry or photographs. She tells me how to raise my child.

Why am I a bad daughter?

We have our differences. We can’t agree to disagree. Someone has to be right (her) and someone has to be wrong (me). She lectures me to no end and I can’t take it anymore. I lose it and I snap. It’s so frustrating I don’t know what else to do. I’m disrespectful.

Let me live my life.

I tried to please her, mistake #1 and I started to  resent her. Now that I’m an adult I would like a relationship with her, but we don’t see eye to eye. We never will.

Mom, I need you like a daughter does. I need you like a friend. Can we talk before you go?

Honor your mother and father. God, can my parents respect me?

I’m sorry that you’re going through hard times. Trust in Him, He knows what’s best. As always, I will try to be a better daughter. Forgive me, God.

I forgive you mom, over and over…until the next time.

I do love you. It was nice knowing you.

Why Am I a Bad Daughter?

Leave a Reply

